Why 27 constituencies could be scrapped after census

By Correspondent


According to a report made by Andrew Ligale-chaired  Interim Independent Boundaries Review Commission, which identified the present constituencies in 2010, a constituency should have an average of 133,138 people. The figure, referred to as population quota, according to a story published on line by The Standard Newspaper, was arrived at after dividing the total population, which was slightly over 38,000,000, as at 2009 with the 290 constituencies. Article 89 of the constitution on the delimitation of electoral units notes ‘…boundaries of each constituency shall be such that the number of inhabitants in the constituency is, as nearly as possible, equal to the population quota’.

It, however, allows for a constituency to be less or more than the quota on special occasions based on geographical features and urban centres; community of interest, historical, economic and cultural ties; and means of communication. It is through this provision that constituencies were grouped into four; cities whose population is allowed at 40 per cent greater than the population quota, rural areas at 30 per cent more, those permitted at 30 per cent less than the population quota and sparsely populated areas allowed at 40 per cent less than population quota. In 2009, some 27 constituencies were allowed to exist despite not meeting their various population quotas of 93,196.6 and 79,882.8. The 27 constituencies are in the spotlight once more as new regulations will dictate that a constituency should be a minimum of about 170,000 people (Quota arrived at from the projection that the the population has grown to 50 million). Most of them could still fail to achieve the minimum.

The constituencies with their population as at 2009 include; Lamu East (18,841) Lamu West (82,698) Mvita (75,153) Voi (86,801)

Wundanyi (58,600) Mwatate (75,591) Galole (60,866) Bura (82,454) Isiolo South (43,110.

Samburu East (59,094) Laisamis (65,669) North Horr (75,196) Saku (46,502) Kilome (87,864) Mukurweini (83,932) Mbeere North (89,037). Other constituencies include; Mathioya (88,219) Ndaragwa (92,626), Budalang’i (66,723), Vihiga (91,616), Othaya (87,374), Mathioya (88,219), Kangema (76,988), Marakwet East (78,749), Keiyo North (73,715), Tetu (78,320) and Mogotio (60,959).


  • Really when someone doesn’t be aware of after that its up to other visitors that they will help, so here it
    takes place.

  • Good day! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with
    SEO? I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good gains.
    If you know of any please share. Kudos! cheap flights 2CSYEon

  • Hmm is anyone else encountering problems with the
    pictures on this blog loading? I’m trying to find out if its
    a problem on my end or if it’s the blog. Any feed-back
    would be greatly appreciated.

  • Thanks very interesting blog!

  • Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article.
    I will be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful info.
    Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely comeback.

  • I’m now not sure where you’re getting your information, however good topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning much more or working out more.
    Thank you for excellent info I used to be looking for this
    info for my mission.

Leave a Reply

Latest news